A nasty Facebook and Twitter virus

Many of you are emailing, texting or calling me about a message on your twitter feed which reads:

“Hey, so some real nasty things are being said about you here 126url.com/6r i cant believe what was said..”

****Do not click on the URL!!! The link actually goes to a twitter domain which has been hacked.

From the Twitter website:

“Twitter uses the t.co domain as part of a service to protect users from harmful activity, to provide value for the developer ecosystem, and as a quality signal for surfacing relevant, interesting Tweet”

Which makes this interesting but annoying as well.

I can see it combines Facebook friends and Twitter following/followers in order to capture information.

Fix: If you clicked it, and authorized the app to access your account, you should probably go into your Twitter settings, under “Connections” and revoke access. Change your password too, just for good measure.




Facebook comments:

3 Responses to "A nasty Facebook and Twitter virus"

Leave a Comment